Academic BDS pledge

In response to the call from Palestinian civil society, including Palestinian academics and students, for an institutional academic boycott of Israel, and in recognition of Israeli universities’ key role in enabling ongoing Israeli oppression of Palestinians, we undertake not to engage in any professional association with Israeli academic, research or government institutions, or collaborate professionally in any way with those institutions’ leaders, until Israel complies with international law and elementary principles of human rights by

  • ending its illegal occupation and annexation of internationally recognized Palestinian territory as defined by the UN;
  • granting full equality before the law to Palestinian citizens of Israel; and
  • recognizing the right of Palestinians to return to the land from which they have been and continue to be expelled.

We note that while this commits us to fully breaking ties with Israeli academic institutions, it does not preclude continuing collaboration with individual Israeli researchers who do not occupy leadership roles in them. We look forward to a time when Israel is prepared to negotiate seriously and in good faith with Palestinians, and civil society actions like the boycott are no longer necessary.

Dr Nick Riemer (English and Linguistics)

Dr David Brophy (History)

Associate Professor Jake Lynch (Peace and Conflict Studies)

Dr Victoria Grieves (Honorary ARC Indigenous Research Fellow, Sociology and Social Policy)

Dr Gareth Bryant (Political Economy)

Dr Frances Clarke (History)

Dr Mike Beggs (Political Economy)

Dr Sophie Loy-Wilson (History)

Dr Ben Miller (Writing Studies)

Associate Professor Ahmar Mahboob (Linguistics)

Associate Professor John Grumley (Philosophy)

Mr Andrew Brodzeli (Political Economy)

Associate Professor Susan Thomas (Writing Studies)

Professor Emeritus Stuart Rees, AM (Peace and Conflict Studies)

Dr Beatrice Wayne (History)

Dr Yvonne Low (Art History)

Professor Emeritus William Foley (Linguistics)

Dr Yaegan Doran (Linguistics)

Professor Sujatha Fernandes (Political Economy and Sociology)

Dr Tim Anderson (Political Economy)

Professor Adam Morton (Political Economy)

Dr Chin Jou (History)

Ms Natalia Maystorovich Chulio (Sociology and Social Policy)

Professor Gillian Cowlishaw (retired) (Anthropology)

Associate Professor Bill Dunn (Political Economy)

Dr Frances Di Lauro (Writing Studies)

Professor John Keane (Director, Sydney Democracy Network)

Dr Yasmine Musharbash (Anthropology)

Honorary Associate Professor John M O’Brien (Work and Organisational Studies)

Professor Emeritus Frank Stilwell (Political Economy)

Professor Nicola Piper (Director, Sydney Asia Pacific Migration Centre)

Dr Omid Tofighian (Philosophy)

Ms Mareese Terare (Education and Social Work)

Ms Rizanna Rosemary (Media and Communications)

Dr Beth Yahp (English)

Dr Briony Neilson (History)

Dr Rebecca Pearse (Political Economy)

Dr Robert Austin (Peace and Conflict Studies)

Mr Paul Duffill (Peace and Conflict Studies)

Dr Thomas Adams (History and American Studies)

Dr Belal Chami (Sydney Medical School)

Mr Fadi Baghdadi (Sociology and Social Policy)

Mr Rafi Alam (Sociology and Social Policy)

Dr Erdahl Teber (Sydney Medical School)

Professor Stephen Castles (Honorary Professor, Sociology)

Dr Jolynna Sinanan (Research Fellow in Digital Media and Ethnography)

Professor Michael McDonnell (History)

Dr Louise Marshall (Art History)

Ms Greta Werner (Sociology and Social Policy)

Associate Professor Ruth Phillips (Education and Social Work)

Dr Diana Shahinyan (Research Fellow in US Studies)

Dr Rick Kuhn (Visiting fellow, Political Economy)

Dr Cat Moir (Germanic Studies and European Studies)

Dr Evan Jones (Political Economy)

Dr Harriet Johnson (Philosophy)

Dr Fiona Martin (Media and Communications)

Dr Ross Morrow (Sociology and Social Policy)

Mr Andrew McLachlan (Sociology and Social Policy)

Dr Lucia Sorbera (Arabic Studies)

Associate Professor Susan Hood (Honorary Associate Professor, Linguistics)

Dr Helen McCue AM (Research Fellow, Sydney Law School)

Dr Holly High (Anthropology)

Dr Johanna Hood (ARC DECRA Research Fellow, Sociology)

Dr Sophie Chao (Postdoctoral Research Associate, History)

Dr Shima Shahbazi (Arabic Languages and Cultures / International and Comparative Literary Studies)

Dr Jason MacLeod (Peace and Conflict Studies)

Fahad Ali (School of Life and Environmental Sciences)

Sarah Jessup (Centre for Continuing Education)

James Godfrey (Sociology and Social Policy)

Dr Ben Eldridge (English)

Dr Toby Fitch (English)

Dr Aisha Malik (Gender and Cultural Studies)

Dr Robert Boncardo (International and Global Studies)

Omar Elkharouf (Government and International Relations)

Associate Professor Tooran Alizadeh (Architecture, Design and Planning)

Joel Griggs (Political Economy)

Dr Lobna Yassine (Social Work and Policy Studies)

Kevin Fine (Student Administrative Services)

Aiden Magro (Art History)

Finola Laughren (Gender and Cultural Studies)

Dr Nikki Wedgwood (Behavioural and Social Sciences in Health)

Dr Markela Panegyres (Architecture, Design and Planning)

Sophie Cotton (Political Economy)

Dr Alex Luke (Centre for English Teaching)

Dr Caitlin Biddolph (International Relations)

Matte Rochford (Languages and Cultures)

Dr Anna Sturman (Sydney Environment Institute)

Nic Avery (Political Economy)

Robin Eames (History)

Dr Niro Kandasamy (History)

Zeina Taleb (English and Writing)

Hira Saud (NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre)

Yenni Hagman-Chafei (Educational Integrity)

Claire Parfitt (Political Economy)

Ioana A. Dumitru (Archaeology)

Roberta Pala (Social and Political Sciences)

Michelle Royer (French and Francophone Studies)

Student supporters

Jack Stubley

to add your name, please email Nick Riemer (

More information:

Sydney Staff for BDS fact sheet 2018

Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel main page

US academic boycott campaign – frequently asked questions